Oxford Weidenfeld Translation Prize Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2011 Oxford Weidenfeld Translation Prize has now been announced.The shortlisted texts are:

The Secret History of Costaguana, by Juan Gabriel Vásquez, translated from the Spanish by Anne McLean (Bloomsbury)

130 Poems by Jean Follain, translated from the French by Christopher Middleton (Anvil Press)

The Elephant’s Journey, by José Saramago, translated from the Portuguese by Margaret Jull Costa (Harvill Secker)

Everything Flows, by Vasily Grossman, translated from the Russian by Robert and Elizabeth Chandler, with Anna Aslanyan (Harvill Secker)

The Journey of Anders Sparrman, by Per Wästberg, translated from the Swedish by Tom Geddes (Granta)

No Way Back, by Theodor Fontane, translated from the German by Hugh Rorrison and Helen Chambers (Angel Books)

Further details about the award can be found here.

Back to News